Java 7 problems with maven – hanging sockets

As on OS X I’ve been developing on JDK 6 it took me this long to start to see Java 7 problems. While I’ve been installing and configuring my new windows development machine I noticed among others strange problem with Java 7 and maven, where downloads would sporadically hang and force me constantly to restart a build or install process.

Naturally google showed few resources about it:

http://jira.codehaus.org/browse/MNG-5162

http://blog.bielu.com/2011/11/hotspot-64bit-server-hangs-on-socket.html

It seems that one workaround would be to use following property:

mvn -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true install

… but for now I preferred to use JDK 6 with maven.

This entry was posted in java, programming, technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s